art / Curiosities / Nature / sculpture / Trees

Pairing

One evening last month, while it was still light enough to see around 6:30,  I took metro to the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and walked around the grounds before meeting a friend inside. I noticed this bronze sculpture titled Don Quixote, by Aurelio Teno, which surely I’ve visited over the years.  This time, as soon as my eyes lit upon it, the image immediately synched with a mental match to that of the remains of a once-mighty tree that I noticed one day recently while driving.  It was such a moving sight–well, what can I say, nature speaks to me… Anyway, I had pulled over on the side of the road to take this photo; the once glorious tree, now hacked and gnarled with age is a sculpture in its own way that still commands a presence.  So, here they are paired:  celebrating a literary hero with a majestic reduction.

Don Quixote Sculpture Kennedy CenterTree

Leave a Reply

